Who We Are

In 2013, a group of scholars at UT Health San Antonio, School of Dentistry discussed the need for statewide data by county that could describe the oral health needs of the population. The discussion stemmed from the perceived need to have information that can be used to describe the oral health burden to legislators in the state and the lay population.

From these early discussions, the first Oral Health Metrics Summit was convened in June, 2014 in San Antonio. The question was: “Is anyone interested in this idea?” The seventy-five attendees responded with a resounding YES; there was a definite need and value for a statewide data repository. After this meeting, the UT Health-San Antonio pursued opportunities for funding.

In 2015, the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) funded the concept of a data repository in Texas with the Texas Department of State Health Services. The repository, now called the Repository of Oral Health Data for Evaluation and Outcomes (ROHDEO), was created based upon the model initiated by Minnesota. Texas was the second state to adopt the concept of an electronic data repository. To date, there are four states with oral health data repositories and plans for more states to join this movement.

A Board of Directors and Advisory Council were created for governance and oversight. Since its conception, ROHDEO developed into an oral health data center for the State of Texas, providing oral health data by county for key oral health indicators and a source of information through webinars and the online resource center.

Executive Committee

David P. Cappelli, DMD, MPH, PhD
Professor and Director, Research Division, Department of Comprehensive Dentistry (UT Health San Antonio)
Rhonda Stokley, D.D.S.
Manager of the Oral Health Program of the Texas Department of State Health Services
State Public Health Dental Director
Annaliese Cothron, MS
Biostatistician at UT Health San Antonio and ROHDEO Coordinator

Jesse Simmons, MS
Senior Evaluation Officer
St. David’s Foundation

Lori Kepler Cofano
Consultant to the Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors (ASTDD) Best Practices Committee, Healthy Aging Committee and Peer Support Program

Advisory Committee

Ana Neumann, DDS, MPH, PhD
Director of Dental Public Health at UT Health School of Dentistry at Houston

Tonya K. Fuqua, DDS
General dentist in private practice part-time in Southlake

Beth Stewart
Serves on the Board of Directors for the American Network of Oral Health Coalitions and the National Rapid Response Team for the American Academy of Pediatrics

Ankit Sanghavi, BDS, MPH
Director for the Community and Oral Health Program at Texas Health Institute (THI)

Michèle J. Saunders, DMD, MS, MPH
Adjunct Professor in the Department of Psychiatry at the UT Health San Antonio
Verne LaGrega
Clinical Care Coordinator

Partner Organizations

We want to make a special thank you to our partner organizations who have helped fund and progress our research.

St Davids Foundation Logo